RSS Feed

Enjoy the Process

I often lament that I am a very slllooowwwww scrapbooker.  Once in a while I can crank out a page fairly quickly.  More regularly; however, it takes me what seems just short of forever to complete a page. 

Reasons for my pokiness:

  1. I am picky.
  2. I am a perfectionist.
  3. I am picky.
  4. I am a perfectionist.

Hmmmm….. sensing a theme here.

For me, choosing just the right combination of papers, embellishments and photos is essential.  I audition lots of paper with my photos.  I have a NEED to choose the perfect embellishments to help tell my story.  If I can’t find the right embellies, I create them.  Creating my embellishmemts is what takes so long. 

See these little nail polish bottles?  I made them – thought up the idea, figured out how to execute my vision, and carried it out.  Why on earth would I do that?  Because I felt the polish bottles were central to the theme of the page.  They helped tell my story.

I used to “complain”  how slow I was to my friend Petunia.  Petunia, if you’ll remember, is the friend who introduced me to scrapping.  Petunia’s reply was always the same, “Enjoy the process.”  I would roll my eyes and think, “enjoy THIS.”  Pretty soon, every time I would start getting cranky about the time I was spending on a page, I would hear Petunia in my head saying “Enjoy the process.” 

I have now arrived at a place where I truly do enjoy the process.  Each page is it’s own work of art created especially by me.  It has been created with much thoughtfulness and intention.  It tells the story I want it to tell.  It makes me happy.  It makes me smile.  I try to imagine what would have happened if Michaelangelo did not enjoy his process and just slapped some paint on the ceiling of the church.  We would not have the beautiful Sistine Chapel.  Please don’t think I am comparing my work in any way, shape or form to Michaelangelo.  What I AM saying, is that he had a vision.  I have a vision.  He worked with purpose and intention.  I work with purpose and intention.  His work was pleasing to his eye.  My work is pleasing to my eye.  Well, you get the picture.

I have employed the “enjoy the process” mantra to many other areas of my life.  When I get grumpy about cleaning, yard work, laundry, etc., I try to take a breath, calm down and enjoy the process.  I think about how nice it will be when the chore is done.  When I am finished, I take a moment to stand back and admire my work.  I look at the mowed yard and think how neat and tidy and “Better Homes and Gardeny” it looks.  I admire my sparkling bathroom and think about how it looks like a hotel bathroom.  I look at the beautiful meal I have put on the table and think about my family enjoying it. 

When you take a moment to enjoy the process and work with intention and purpose, your mundane tasks seem to pass by a little quicker.  Believe it or not, the song from Disney’s Snow White goes through my head a lot also “Whistle while you work.”  Oh sure, the process can still get me down.  I wouldn’t be human if I thought scrubbing toilets was paradise.  All I am saying is that whether you are scrapping and it’s taking forever to get your page done, or you are sweeping the floor for the hundredth time that day, take a moment to enjoy the process. 

It can change your outlook.

Until next time,

Mama Donna

About mamadonna58102

I am a 40 -year-old Domestic Engineer. I live in Fargo, ND with my husband of 26 years. I have two grown children, one son and one daughter. I also have two fur boys - an 11-year-old cocker spaniel dog and an 8-year-old British shorthair cat. I've often been called "Woman of a Thousand Hobbies" by friends and family and have a love for all things crafty. My favorite passion; however, is scrapbooking which I have been doing for just over three years. I also sew, embroider, crochet, knit, bead and I LOVE to cook and bake. I am always eager to learn something new. Thanks for joining me here!

3 responses »

  1. Absolutely LOVE this! Oh so very true. Enjoy the process. 🙂

    Reply
  2. I’ve got to figure out how to enjoy the process of homework. =\ Love you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

