RSS Feed

Inspiration is Everywhere

Where does one find new ideas and inspiration to create scrapbook pages?  The answer is:  EVERYWHERE! 

As you begin this amazing creative journey, the process of “figuring it out” and inspiration for layouts can be a bit elusive.  I am here to help you ignite that creative spark and provide you with some resources.

A very good friend, I’ll call her Petunia, introduced me to this wonderful world.  She had been scrapping for years, all self-taught.  I picked her brain.  Petunia had some great ideas for organization, supplies and tools.  I marveled at her finished scrapbooks.  I knew that yes, this was the passion for me.

When I was at home, alone; however, I found a certain lack of inspiration and layout ideas.  I didn’t want all my pages to look the same.  I wanted to learn the basics, but also wanted to be “up” on the latest tools, trends and products.  On one of my seemingly daily treks to the local supermarket, I came across two different scrapbook publications while standing in the checkout line.  I decided to pick up a copy of each one, and boy am I glad I did.  One of the magazines is called Creating Keepsakes.  The other is called Scrapbooks, Etc. 

I brought the magazines home, sat down with a cup of coffee (coffee and scrapbooking – two of my favoritest things ever!) and paged through them.  They were filled with great photos, how-to articles, page “recipes” and new product information.  I am a hugely visual person.  I create visions of my projects in my head and attempt to execute them with paper, fabric, yarn, etc.  What I loved about these publications is they often provided page sketches, black and white line drawings of page layouts, but then they show you how they can look when finished with different papers and embellishments.  I immediately checked out their websites and subscribed to both magazines.  You can check them out at:

http://www.creatingkeepsakes.com

http://www.scrapbooksetc.com

Both sites have tons of information, organizational tips, photographs, page layouts and blogs.  I am not affiliated with either of these companies, I just like them.

Around the time I began scrapbooking, Petunia decided to become a Close to My Heart consultant.  She introduced me to some wonderful idea books they carry.  In these books there are recipes for pages.  You can decide you want three photos on a page, and the book will direct you to different layouts containing three photos and show you how to put the page together.  Only one photo for this layout?  No problem.  The books direct you to all the layout ideas containing one photo.  The books also contain lots of neat ideas for techniques and embellishment options. 

http://www.ctmh.com

Again, no affiliation, just great products.

When the creative juices began to flow, I began to find inspiration everywhere.  I had familiarized myself with the myriad of products out there and had learned what they were for.  I had spent time browsing in my local stores and online.  I began to be able to look at a sheet of paper and think, “Hey I have the perfect photo for that!  Wouldn’t it be cute if I….”  Once in a while I would find a piece of paper for which I had no appropriate photos but would think, “I’m going to take a photo of _____ and create a page to go with this paper.”  I would find an old board game in the thrift store and think, “These Scrabble tiles would make a great title on a page.”  I started to think outside the box.  I have always been a saver of ticket stubs, programs, park maps, etc.  Now I had a medium in which to display them.  If your kids dressed like Harry Potter characters last halloween, include the movie stubs from the HP movie you saw with them that fall.  That trip to Sea World you took?  Use the park map as a background for a layout or cut some of the graphics out and use them as accents on your page.  

Inspiration is everywhere.  You just need to open your mind and see things in a new way.  Remember that something doesn’t have to be labeled “scrapbook” to include it in one.  You are telling YOUR story, preserving YOUR memories.  There is no right or wrong. 

Until next time,

Mama Donna

About mamadonna58102

I am a 40 -year-old Domestic Engineer. I live in Fargo, ND with my husband of 26 years. I have two grown children, one son and one daughter. I also have two fur boys - an 11-year-old cocker spaniel dog and an 8-year-old British shorthair cat. I've often been called "Woman of a Thousand Hobbies" by friends and family and have a love for all things crafty. My favorite passion; however, is scrapbooking which I have been doing for just over three years. I also sew, embroider, crochet, knit, bead and I LOVE to cook and bake. I am always eager to learn something new. Thanks for joining me here!

One response »

  1. Ha! Petunia! LOVE IT!!!! 🙂 And LOVE YOU!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

