RSS Feed

Building Your Paper Stash

Scrapbookers and paper crafters lovingly refer to their unused paper supply as their “stash.”  It can be big:

It can be small:

The point is, at some time you will have accumulated a “stash.”

How does a person decide how much paper to purchase?  Of course, the answer is, “It depends.”  I’m going to share how I built my stash and hopefully give you some useful insight on how to build yours.

As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, I typically shop with a project in mind.  Truth be told, I usually have SEVERAL projects in mind.  I’ll try and explain.

My daughter was a cheerleader for four years.  Cheer paper and embellishments are not an easy thing to find in my area.  Whenever I would run across cheer-themed paper or embellishments (no matter if I was shopping for another project), I would pick them up in order to build my stash of that type of paper.  This way, when I am ready to scrap those photos, I have my supplies ready to go.  How many of each sheet did I buy?  I do a lot of two-page layouts because I am a photo junkie.  So, when I made my purchase, I usually bought two sheets of the same paper.  My thinking is that I can do a two-page layout with the same background paper, I can do a two-page layout with one printed paper and one piece of cardstock as the background and then use the second piece of printed paper in small blocks on the cardstock page, I have FOUR years of cheer albums to finish and using the same paper in two different albums is no big deal to me.  As far as embellishments go, I almost always buy just one package.  For some weird reason, I don’t like to repeat embellishments, even when they’re in different albums.  Repeating offends my senses, bugs the heck out of me, drives me crazy.   

I have a pretty good memory for knowing what paper and embellishments are in my stash, but once in a while I wind up buying the same thing twice.  It always makes me laugh, because I liked it so well I had to have it two times!  In this case, I won’t waste them by throwing them out or anything that drastic.  I’ll go ahead and use them even if it offends my senses, because wasting things offends my senses even more!

Another way to build your paper stash is to purchase paper pads or paper packs.  The pads and packs are themed and are a great way to quickly build your stash for a particular project.  DCWV (Die Cuts With a View) puts out some great paper pads http://www.dcwv.com.  I have also found a great company from which to buy paper packs.  It is called Close To My Heart http://www.ctmh.com.  DCWV can be found in stores, while CTMH has to be ordered through a consultant or on the CTMH website.  I have no affiliation with either of these companies, I just like them.

A great way to build your cardstock stash is to purchase variety packs.  You will find they come in sort of “themed” packs – bright colors, pastels, earth tones, black and white.  You can also purchase single sheets of cardstock in a rainbow of colors to coordinate with your printed papers.  Cardstock usually comes manufactured one of two ways – each sheet is the same color all the way through, or each sheet has a white core.  There are some papers out there that have one color on the top and bottom with the core of the sheet being a coordinating color (think two shades of green – dark green on the outside, light green on the inside).  Cool huh???  Cardstock also comes in textures.  It can be smooth, textured like canvas, embossed with different patterns, glittered, flocked, etc.  My “go to” cardstock is smooth with the same color all the way through.  I like the smooth because I also do a lot of stamping and I think the images come out clearer and crisper using a smooth versus textured paper.  The choice of cardstock type is totally up to you.  Play with some of each and see what you like best.  Remember, this is YOUR scrapbook, YOUR art, and YOUR choice.  There is NO right or wrong.

Now, go forth.  Build your stash.  Build it a little at a time or go all out.  Watch the sales.

Until next time,

Mama Donna

About mamadonna58102

I am a 40 -year-old Domestic Engineer. I live in Fargo, ND with my husband of 26 years. I have two grown children, one son and one daughter. I also have two fur boys - an 11-year-old cocker spaniel dog and an 8-year-old British shorthair cat. I've often been called "Woman of a Thousand Hobbies" by friends and family and have a love for all things crafty. My favorite passion; however, is scrapbooking which I have been doing for just over three years. I also sew, embroider, crochet, knit, bead and I LOVE to cook and bake. I am always eager to learn something new. Thanks for joining me here!

Leave a Reply

